## Elba Public School Board February 19, 2023 Regular Monthly Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 7:03 p.m. by President Terry Spilinek. The next board meeting will be March 13, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. President Spilinek stated that the meeting was in compliance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted in the room and Thompson read the publication of the meeting. Roll call of members present: Terry Spilinek, Robyn Rasmussen, Sara Roy, Jim Thompson, and Brittany Christensen. Others present included: Superintendent Allison Pritchard, Principal Michael Collett and members of the public.

Motion by Thompson, seconded by Roy to approve Tracy Usasz as board member to fill the current vacancy on the Elba Public Schools School Board. Yes – Thompson, Roy, Rasmussen, Spilinek, Christensen. No – 0. Motion carried 5-0.

President Spilinek swore in appointed board member Tracy Usasz.

Motion by Thompson, seconded by Christensen to approve the agenda as prepared. Yes – Roy, Christensen, Rasmussen, Spilinek, Usasz, Thompson. No – 0. Motion carried 6 – 0.

The board heard a Celebration of Excellence for Remington Weddle for placing 1st in the seventh grade at the Howard County Spelling Bee. The FFA has been busy with 3 events in 3 consecutive weeks. Six high school members and eight Jr. High members participated in LDE's on January 25 and brought home numerous ribbons. Shia Rasmussen received a purple and goes to State FFA for Discovery Speaking. Deanna Fanta, Meleyna Kosmicki and Jaime Wysocki interviewed and received their Nebraska State FFA Degree. On February 8, ten FFA members traveled to Grand Island for District 8 CDE's, again bringing home a lot of ribbons. The 9th grade FFA members officially received their blue and gold jackets in a ceremony on February 6th.

No public comments were heard.

The AD, Superintendent and Principal reports were given. Board committee reports were also given.

Motion by Roy, seconded by Thompson to approve items on the consent agenda including Minutes from the regular meeting held January 9, the Monthly Financial report and Payment of the Bills including payroll in the amount of \$219,863.47. Yes – Roy, Spilinek, Usasz, Thompson, Christensen, Rasmussen. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board received information on the following discussion items: Senior trip, addition of Tracy Usasz on the Americanism & Textbook and Curriculum & Instruction Committees, Negotiations, Superintendent Evaluations, 2023-2024 District Calendar, Plan of Return Safe

Schools, Review Classified Staff Salaries, Webpage, School Vehicles, School Key Holders, and Resignation.

Motion by Thompson, seconded by Christensen to approve the senior class trip as presented by Ms. Colfack and the seniors. Yes –Christensen, Usasz Thompson, Spilinek, Rasmussen, Roy. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Christensen, seconded by Usasz to approve Ms. Pritchard's 2022-2023 Superintendent Evaluation. Yes – Usasz, Roy, Rasmussen, Christensen, Thompson, Spilinek. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Rasmussen, seconded by Roy to approve the Plan of Return Safe Schools. Yes - Thompson, Roy, Usasz, Rasmussen, Christensen, Spilinek. No - 0. Motion carried 6 - 0.

Motion by Thompson with regrets, seconded by Usasz to approve the resignation of Shelly Goldfish effective at the end of the 2022-2023 school year. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Christensen, Roy, Thompson, Usasz. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Thompson, seconded by Roy to go into executive session to discuss classified staff salary. Yes – Spilinek, Rasmussen, Thompson, Christensen, Usasz, Roy. No – 0. Motion carried 6 - 0. President Spilinek declared the Board in executive session at 8:35 p.m. With no action being taken, President Spilinek declared the Board out of executive session at 9:28 p.m.

Motion by Roy, seconded by Christensen to approve the classified staff salaries as corrected. Yes - Usasz, Roy, Rasmussen, Christensen, Thompson. No - 0. Abstain - Spilinek. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Thompson, seconded by Roy to adjourn. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Christensen, Roy, Thompson, Usasz. No – 0. Motion carried 6 - 0.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Robyn Rasmussen Board Secretary